LAX to PVG

Cause I’m leaving on a jet plane, don’t know when I’ll be back again…

I’ve been up since 5, since before the sun lit up the sky. And I only slept for 2 hrs last night. So I am more than ready for this trans-Pacific flight from LAX to PVG, Shanghai.

About two months ago, I had lasik eye surgery. After the cut on my right eye, the doctor moved to my left side. Before proceeding, he warned that I’ll feel a bit more pressure on my left eye because of the anticipation. I didn’t believe him. Shouldn’t knowing what’s coming help me to be better prepared? Then he made the cut, and he was right.

So this time as I prepare to leave California for Shanghai yet again, I feel a stronger sense of loss. For the past couple of weeks, I’ve felt a bit unwilling. Even though this is what I want and I am so grateful for this opportunity, like a child clutching her security blanket, I just want to hold on a bit longer to the comfort of San Diego.

I know I will miss the space. I’m already missing it as the woman sitting next to me pushes her elbow into my arm. I will miss the quiet. About two weeks in, I will start craving steak, In-N-Out, Top Dog, and brownies. I will miss the beach, Pandora, and probably Facebook, at least until I have VPN access.

It’s okay. I’ll be back soon enough. This is nothing compared to how hard it’ll be leaving Shanghai for California in a year. I know, I’m just so impossible to please.

Shanghai, Nanjing, Vietnam, Indonesia, and Nepal are on my list for the next 12 months. Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “LAX to PVG

Leave a Reply

